I Am So Proud of You

I was back at school today cleaning up and my mind couldn’t help but think of all the students, both mine and all those I’ve come to know these past couple of years. 

There are so many things I would have loved to said as they left for the summer or even left for good moving on to other schools, but one of the most important things I know I said to some was this, “I am so proud of you!” 

I am so proud of all the effort you put forth. You showed such courage and bravery as you tried new things, and took risks as you investigated ways to construct your learning in all areas of the curriculum and in areas not in the curriculum that were sometimes more important. 

I am proud of the way you played, became part of a community, and helped one another learn and grow. You showed empathy, compassion, respect, and resilience. 

Your sense of wonder and inquiry amazed me on many an occasion. I have to admit that, at times, I may have learned more from you than you did from me. 

I know I couldn’t have said all of this to each and every one of you, so please know, that when I say, “I’m proud of you” that I mean it all. 

Leave a Reply

