Anchor Charts

I’m always a little funny about anchor charts. I find that many of them become “art work” and aren’t necessarily utilized by students. I think anchor charts should be a reflection of what is happening and needed in class and should be referenced by students throughout the day/week to answer questions about they need to be successful, stay on task, and productive. Some might say, they aid the students. 


This week, my reading groups forced me to make some anchor charts… and I loved it. It reminded me of the true purpose of them. My students wanted to be reminded of what tasks we were doing without me having to go over the directions each time. Once I had these up, my small groups were more efficient and productive. Anchor charts can be wonderful tools, but if they aren’t being created because of, by, or with the students, they may best be left on Pinterest. 

Leave a Reply

